Jessica Williams responding to #NoIndictment for murderer Darren Wilson.
I stand by this.
Tag: swears //
i keep seeing white people on my dash pulling this shit, so let’s just get this in the open:
- stop making this about the hunger games
- stop making this about v for vendetta
- stop making this about les mis
- stop making this about any other fictional allegorical oppression story
stop making this about white narratives focused on white people made by white people when this is about the dehumanisation of black lives happening in real life.
in addition to this:
- stop reblogging to kill a mockingbird quotes
- stop making this about Steve Rogers oh my fucking god
- this is about THINGS THAT ARE ACTUALLY HAPPENING, this is not about what kind of fictional utopian America that you think he should represent.
- Stop using white narratives for black struggles; those stories are not made by black people, they are not about black people and putting them front and centre in a conversation about anti-black racism is gross as all hell, whether you’re white or non-black POC.
- use quotes by ACTUAL BLACK PEOPLE INSTEAD.
- this goes to white people and as well as fellow non-black POC.
- do i really have to fucking say this.
“Tamir Rice, the young man shot”
No fucking way. He was 12. He was a god damn little boy and you will NOT try to take that fact away by referring to him as a “young man”.
Tamir Rice was a child. He was years away from adulthood.
Don’t try to protect the police who did this. They murdered a child, let it be known.
lemme learn u a thing if you’re comparing this to the hunger games right now
this is exactly my issue with the (whitewashed) hunger games franchise, or any (whitewashed) dystopian future franchise. it literally sensationalizes oppressive governments and the murder of marginalized children. it takes many of the same factors of our oppressive government today but instead uses white people as the heroes so we can keep pretending it’s all fiction.
and we can totally understand the hunger games. we can understand why they say “we hate the capitol” we can understand why they can’t “just leave” we can understand how their equivalent of social media is more reliable and how things like the news are full of lies, we can UNDERSTAND all that.
but when it comes to ferguson? when it’s real life and, you know, black people? we’re silent, we say, “oh well he’s a thug so he deserved it” or “oh those protestors are rioters and overreacting” or “oh you ALWAYS have to make it about race.”
it is REAL, it is HAPPENING, and it’s NOT YOUR FUCKING YA NOVEL FANTASY BULLSHIT. and if you truly believe there is nothing wrong, if you are PASSIVE about this, if you IGNORE this, you’re disgusting vile trash and every bit as oppressive as the cops, the gov’t, every bit. don’t. you. dare. forget this.
and no. non-black poc are not exempt from antiblackness either. it’s not about us, it’s about them, stand in solidarity but don’t derail.
like ok sure “not all cops are bad” but where are all these “good cops” when their buddies are executing children?
Do they speak up? Do they condemn their coworkers? Do they do a god damn thing except sit back and give their tacit approval to their murderous coworkers?
No. They don’t say a fucking word.
Behind the scenes of The Avengers
- do not support fckh8
- do not support susan g komen
- do not support autism speaks
- do not support peta
- stop supporting shitty organizations
- put your money towards organizations that actually help
Some additional resources:
Why Susan G Komen is actually pretty shitty
Why Autism Speaks is a vile vile organization (so many trigger warnings, check the top of the post)
Why PETA does not actually support animal rights (animal harm and death warning)
you go, you beautiful person. you fuckin go.
YES FUCK YES
Me: npcs in games should be more upset that I just barge into their house
Skyrim npc: get out of my house
Me: what the fuck